Jordan Z. Marks


County of San Diego

Birth Certificate Request

You can obtain a birth certificate for anyone born within the County of San Diego.  

If the registrant was born in another county, contact that County Recorder’s office. 

Please allow 3 weeks after the date of birth to request a birth certificate. If no record is found based on the information provided on the application, a "Letter of No Record" will be issued. The Recorder's Office will retain the non-refundable fee for processing the application.

Who can obtain a birth certificate?

Those who are authorized by law to receive a Certified Copy of a birth certificate are:

  • The registrant (the person named on the certificate)

  • A parent or legal guardian of the registrant

  • A party entitled to the record as a result of a court order, or an attorney or a licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirement of California Family Code Sections 3140 or 7603 (a certified copy of the court order must be provided)

  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business

  • A child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant

  • An attorney representing the registrant or a registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute, or appointed by a court to act on behalf of a registrant or a registrant's estate 

What is the difference between a Certified Copy and an Informational Copy? 

A Certified Copy of a birth certificate is required to obtain a driver’s license, passport, social security card, and other services related to an individual’s identity. 

Those who are not authorized by law to request a Certified Copy will receive a certified Informational Copy. A certified Informational Copy is marked "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY".

How to order:

Visit one of our available office locations and complete the birth certificate application, which must be signed in the presence of a County Clerk. You will be asked to present valid government-issued photo ID when you arrive. 


  • $32 for each birth certificate

The fee is not refundable even if the record is not found.

The fee is payable by cash, check or money order, or credit/debit card.
An additional $2.50 surcharge is applicable for card payments.

Check or money order payable to: San Diego Recorder/County Clerk.


This service is not available at our Kearny Mesa Office. Instead, you can request birth certificates at any of our office locations including; downtown San Diego, Chula Vista, Santee, and San Marcos. An appointment  is not required.

How to order:

Visit and complete the ordering process.

For a Certified Copy, select “Authorized Copy” on VitalChek’s website.

Select “San Diego County Recorder” as the government agency. 


  • $32 for each birth certificate
  • $12.95 VitalChek handling fee
  • $19 VitalChek expedited delivery fee (optional)

The fee is not refundable even if the record is not found.

How to order:

Complete the birth certificate application.

If requesting a Certified Copy:
You must be an authorized individual. Complete the Sworn Statement on the application and have it notarized. The Certificate of Acknowledgement must be completed by a Notary Public. If outside of California, the Notary may cross out California and enter the correct state.

If requesting a certified Informational Copy:
You do not have to be an authorized individual. The Sworn Statement, Certificate of Acknowledgment, and notarization are not required. 

Mail to: 

Send completed application with check or money order to:

San Diego Recorder/County Clerk
ATTN: Vital Records
P.O. Box 121750
San Diego, CA 92112-1750 


  • $32 for each birth certificate

The fee is not refundable even if the record is not found.

The fee is payable by check or money order only, when requesting by mail.
Payable to: San Diego Recorder/County Clerk.

Do not send cash by mail.

Appointments are not necessary. See our available office locations for hours of operation.

Our office only holds birth records for persons born within the County of San Diego. 

If born in another county, contact that County Recorder's office.

Our office has no authority to correct, edit, or amend information on a Birth Certificate. All corrections must be done with the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). See the CDPH webpage for correcting or amending vital records. Contact them for any questions regarding amending a birth record.