County Assessor Reminds Business, Aircraft & Vessel Owners May 7th is Business Personal Property Tax Filing Deadline
San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk, Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr. is reminding all business, aircraft and vessel owners that Tuesday, May 7th is the State of California mandated deadline for filing unsecured business personal property statements. Filings must be postmarked on or before May 7th to avoid a 10 percent late filing penalty. The unsecured property tax bills are issued based on the statements filed by May 7th and have to be paid prior to August 31, 2020.
Assessor Dronenburg said, “During these difficult times my office is working proactively to help taxpayers avoid any penalties by filing their forms timely.” Dronenburg continued, “I requested the Governor to delay the State of California mandated May 7th business personal property tax filing deadline, but that relief has not been granted.” Dronenburg concluded, “While my office over the counter services are temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we remain open and committed to providing taxpayers excellent customer service online, over the phone and through e-mail to ensure everyone has the tools they need to avoid penalties by filing their business, aircraft and vessel statements before the state mandated May 7th filing deadline.”
In January, the County Assessor Business Personal Property Division mailed approximately 64,000 statements and notices to business, aircraft, and vessel owners, with 51,000 business accounts deemed eligible to file electronically. Eligible business owners are strongly encouraged to e-file their statements online by May 7th through our simple, accurate, and secure e-file system. Eligible taxpayers, who did not already receive a Pin Number, can secure their Pin Number to e-file by calling (858-)505-6100 or via email at ARCCBusinessE-file.FGG@sdcounty.ca.gov.
Taxpayers that received a request to file from the Assessor’s office or that own Business Personal Property (examples include: office equipment, machinery, computers) whose aggregate cost is over $100,000 must file a statement annually. Anyone receiving a request to file who was not the owner as of January 1, 2020, should return the statement with supporting information before the deadline so we can update records to avoid future assessment notices.
Please visit www.sdarcc.com for more information or contact the Business Personal Property Division directly at (858) 505-6100; E-mail ARCCBusinessE-file.FGG@sdcounty.ca.gov.
Ernest J. Dronenburg, Jr. was re-elected in 2018 as the San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk. Dronenburg has ushered in award-winning services providing veteran property tax relief and modernized office systems leading to more online services, reducing paper waste, and eliminating a backlog of taxpayer assessment appeals.